The Haematology Nurse Group have bursaries which are open to all paid members of the nurses group.

2022 HAI bursaries for Haematology Nurses and Allied Health Professionals


Please note that we will have a number of Travel Bursaries available to both Medical/Scientific attendees and Nursing/AHP attendees to the value of €150 towards travel costs (application form below).  Preference will be given to those who have submitted an abstract that has been accepted for Oral/Display Poster Presentation.  Deadline for Travel Bursary applications will be Friday 30 September 2022.

Applications should be submitted electronically to


Please Click Here To Download A Travel Bursary Application Form For 2022

Gillian Lamrock Award

In 2011 the independent adjudicators selected Ruth Thompson’s presentation regarding nurse prescribing of blood to win. We were delighted that Caitlin McCoy and Janet Morrison, friends and colleagues of Gillian, were free to present the prize at HAI 2011, along with Gillian’s husband David, and mother Daphne.

The award, an engraved vase, will be presented for the next five years for best oral presentation from the nurses and AHP category.

At the annual HAI meeting on 19th and 20th October 2012 in Rochestown Park Hotel, Cork many interesting and informative presentations were presented. Anne Grogan, Nurse Manager of National Centre for Hereditary Coagulation Disorders at St. James’s Hospital, Dublin won the Gillian Lamrock Award for 2012 for her presentation entitled ‘Development of a Model of Quality Evaluation and Improvement within a Haematology Service’

In 2015 at the Annual HAI meeting in October in the Galway Bay Hotel, some fantastic presentations were given. Caroline McCaughey, Practice Educator for Queens University and Belfast City Hospital, won the Gillian Lamrock Award 2015 for her presentation entitled ‘Introduction of a Piperacillin and Tazobactam Patient Group Direction (PGD) in Haematology’.

The 2016 AGM was held in the Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone. Four fantastic oral abstract presentations were given and Caroline Croezen won our prestigious Gillian Lamrock Award 2016 for her oral presentation ‘Pilot project to introduce the delivery of high dose chemotherapy in the home setting using an ambulatory infusion device’.

The 2016 AGM was held in the Europa Hotel, Belfast. Four fantastic oral abstract presentations were given and Geraldine Walpole won our prestigious Gillian Lamrock Award 2017 for her oral presentation ‘‘THE EXPERIENCES OF MYELOMA PATIENTS UNDERGOING HAEMATOPOIETIC STEM CELL TRANSPLANT:  QUALITATIVE THEMATIC SYNTHESIS’.

RuthThompson (winner of Gillian Lamrock Award 2011) with Gillian's mum Daphne Moran and Gillian's husband, David, in the background.